"Live In Japan"


01. Me
02. No Place For Disgrace
03. The Master Sleeps
04. Nothing To Say
05. Hard On You
06. Escape From Within
07. Hammerhead
08. Doomsday For the Deceiver
09. Straight To Hell (video)

RATING: 6/10

Like everything else about their career these days, this DVD from FLOTSAM AND JETSAM is a decidedly low-budget affair. Plain-jane packaging, a 45-minute concert with one video from the new record tacked on as the sole "bonus", and a poorly-lit show filmed with two, maybe three stationary cameras — this is definitely bootleg-quality stuff here.

But it'll still be a must for FLOTSAM diehards — the performance itself is excellent, the setlist favoring older material (understandable, given that this show was pretty much a nostalgia trip, also featuring DEATH ANGEL and OVERKILL — too bad no one could get all three bands on one DVD!). The audio won't win any awards, but it's passable, and it's sufficient for a documentation of what had to be a euphoric show for these guys, this far into a pretty hard-luck stretch of years. The packed house is enthusiastic even for the newer material, and goes positively apeshit over classics like "The Master Sleeps" and "Hard On You".

And that's it, really — it's a rough and ready document, hopefully available cheap, which will be better than nothing for the band's remaining stalwart fans. It shows that FLOTSAM AND JETSAM still have talent and heart to spare, and that they've definitely gotten the shaft, career-wise — hopefully a few old-schoolers will be impressed by "Straight to Hell" (the song, if not the video) and pick up "Dreams of Death", a solid and enjoyable album that didn't deserve to sink without a trace upon its release last summer.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).