OBSESSION Prepare To Release 'Carnival Of Lies'; More Audio Samples Available

Reunited classic early '80s metal band OBSESSION will be releasing their long-awaited follow-up to 1987's "Methods of Madness", entitled "Carnival of Lies" (cover), via Metal Mayhem (web site) in the U.S. and Avalon in Japan. The track listing is as follows:

01. Smoking Gun
02. Carnival Of Lies
03. In For The Kill
04. Playing Dead
05. Imagining
06. The Offering
07. Pure Evil
08. I Don't Belong
09. Written In Blood
10. Guilty As Charged
11. Marshall Law (2006 version)

The Japanese version includes a bonus track — the 2006 version of "Panic in the Streets" — while the European edition will come with an extra song, "Judas".

Check out the songs "Carnival of Lies", "I Don't Belong" and "Marshall Law" (2006 version) at this location. The album's projected title track features Swedish guitar sensation Robert Marcello (DANGER DANGER, IRONHORSE) and Boston based neo-classical shred-god Joe Stump (REIGN OF TERROR).

Original members Michael Vescera (vocals; ex-LOUDNESS, YNGWIE MALMSTEEN, MVP) and Jay Mezias (drums; HANDS OF STONE, WORLDPAIN) have recruited Marcello Stump and bassist Chris McCarvill (JEFF SCOTT SOTO BAND, X-FACTOR-X), among others, to help them deliver some new OBSESSION original material which will feature "an absolutely incredible all-star lineup of metal talent that is second to none in ability," according to a press release. "With these new guest players, Michael and Jay have formed a lethal combination guaranteed to please the most die-hard, obsessed heavy metal guitar worshippers. The patience of all the Obsessed Headbangers throughout the world is greatly appreciated by the band. OBSESSION promises to stay true to its roots and the 'OBSESSION sound' and this promises to be the best material the band has ever released."

OBSESSION gained success in the late '80s with the release of a four-song EP, 1984's "Marshall Law" (Metal Blade Records), two LPs (1986's "Scarred For Life" and 1987's "Methods Of Madness", both for Enigma/Capitol Records), and an MTV "Headbanger's Ball"-aired video for "For the Love of Money", from "Methods of Madness". OBSESSION's original lineup featured Michael and Jay along with Bruce Vitale (guitar/songwriter who's attending to previous business commitments and may someday appear with OBSESSION again), Art Maco (guitar, retired) and Matt Karagus (bass, retired).

OBSESSION 2006 is:

Mike Vescera - Vocals
Jay Mezias - Drums
John Bruno - Guitar
Scott Boland - Guitar
Chris McCarvill - Bass


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).