STRYPER's 'Murder By Pride' Lands On BILLBOARD Chart

"Murder By Pride", the new album from Christian hard rockers STRYPER, sold 5,900 copies in the United States in its first week of release to debut at position No. 73 on The Billboard 200 chart.

"Murder By Pride" will be released in Europe on August 28 via Frontiers Records. The CD was made available in the U.S. on July 21 through Big 3 Records.

"Murder By Pride" track listing:

01. Eclipse Of The Son (4:04)
02. 4 Leaf Clover (3:42)
03. Peace Of Mind (3:58)
04. Alive (3:36)
05. The Plan (3:10)
06. Murder By Pride ((3:18)
07. I Believe (3:43)
08. Run In You (4:15)
09. Love Is Why (4:07)
10. Mercy Over Blame (4:07)
11. Everything (4:26)
12. My Love (I'll Always Show) (3:14)
13. My Love, My Life, My Flame (exclusive bonus track for Europe)

Commented singer Michael Sweet: "After years of speaking to fans and hearing comments like 'more guitars,' 'more solos' and 'more screams,' I decided to keep those comments in mind as I wrote each song. It was important to me to try to get back to that early sound of STRYPER yet at the same time, to remain relevant today. It's certainly not an easy thing to do but as I listen to 'Murder By Pride', I think that was accomplished.

"I got the idea of the title 'Murder By Pride' from seeing pride consume dreams, goals and many times, lives. We all deal with pride and it can be crippling, so I wanted to write a lyric and a theme that would be a constant reminder of that. This record has been in the works for a long, long time and I can only hope that it was worth the wait!"

STRYPER will embark on a tour of the United States in September, hitting approximately 50 cities across America. This will be followed by international tour dates in January and February of 2010. The bands's 25th-anniversary tour will be a two-set show. The first set will be new STRYPER material and include bassist Tracy Ferrie, along with original members Michael Sweet, Robert Sweet, and Oz Fox. The second set will be classic STRYPER hits and will be all four original members, including original bassist Tim Gaines. Michael Sweet Jr.'s band will be the opening band on the tour.

25 years ago (1984), STRYPER broke onto the scene with its debut EP, "Yellow And Black Attack", and has since gone on to sell 8 million records worldwide and tour the world spreading an inspirational message through their branded sound of rock songs, heavy guitars, and pristine harmony vocals.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).