THE POODLES' 'Performocracy' Tops Swedish Chart

"Performocracy", the fourth album from Swedish hard rockers THE POODLES, has entered the official chart in the band's home country at position No. 1. Released on April 15 in Europe (May 5 in North America) via Frontiers Records, the CD was again produced by Mats Valentin, but this time Tobias Lindell (EUROPE, MUSTASCH) mixed the 12 outstanding tracks that make up the effort.

According to a press release, the "Performocracy" title is a combination of the words "performance" and "democracy," meaning "the power of performance" or "rule by performance." The album was again produced by Mats Valentin, but this time Tobias Lindell (EUROPE, MUSTASCH) mixed the 12 outstanding tracks that make up the CD.

"I think we have followed through on what we started with the last album, 'Clash Of The Elements'," explains singer Jakob Samuel. "Besides continuing to work with producer extraordinaire, Mats Valentin, we took a step further with some of the material that was hinted at on 'Clash Of The Elements'. On 'Performocracy' there is a more epic and darker character to some of the songs that we wanted to explore in more detail. Having said this, we have definitely stayed with a lot of the signature melodic elements that are trademark of the band."

"One important aspect of having a few releases in the bag is that you know more what you want as a band," says bassist Pontus Egberg. "Someone once said that 'if you want to dream big, you have to dream in great detail.' To us this means that we take all the knowledge and experience that we have acquired from our previous efforts and use that to plan ahead and make our dreams bigger."

As the album title suggests, performing songs live is the reason for what THE POODLES are as a band. A full European tour is planned for the early fall, with dates in South America and Japan also in the works.

"Performocracy" track listing:

01. I Want It All
02. Until Our Kingdom Falls
03. Father To A Son
04. I Believe In You
05. Cuts Like A Knife
06. As Time Is Passing
07. Love Is All
08. Your Time Is Now
09. Action!
10. Bring Back The Night
11. Vampire's Call
12. Into The Quiet Night
13. Don't Tell Me (bonus track)

The "I Want It All" video can be viewed below.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).