THE SCOURGER: 'Dark Invitation To Armageddon' Artwork Revealed

THE SCOURGER, the brute thrash metal force from Helsinki, Finland, has revealed the cover artwork for its second full-length studio album, entitled "Dark Invitation to Armageddon".

Joe Petagno, the artist behind the MOTÖRHEAD logo and album art, has designed the cover for the CD. Mr. Petagno was very excited about creating artwork for the apocalyptic world that is part of THE SCOURGER's vision. In the finished artwork Joe brought to life the vision of singer Jari Hurskainen like no artist has been able to do before.

Joe Petagno's huge back catalogue of amazing artwork inludes such artists as ALICE COOPER, PINK FLOYD and LED ZEPPELIN.

The recording of "Dark Invitation to Armageddon" has been finalized and the finishing touches to the mix have been put by Pelle Saether at Studio Underground in Västerås, Sweden. Pelle's previous work includes, among others, such names as CARNAL FORGE and MILLENCOLLIN.

During the Tuska Open Air Festival 2007, Pelle visited Finland to watch the band perfom live and this proved to be the start for a creative co-operation for the mixing process. Both band and engineer share the opinion, that the forthcoming disc will be the most brutal sounding thrash metal album that has ever been released by a Finnish metal band. Also some selected representatives of the media share this opinion, as they have been given the opportunity to listen to the album beforehand.

"Dark Invitation to Armageddon" track listing:

01. Lex Talionis
02. No Redemption
03. In the Hour of Ruin
04. To Tame a Life
05. Never Bury the Hatchet
06. Deformed Reality
07. Dark Invitation to Armageddon
08. Reign in Bestial Sin
09. Beyond Judas
10. Cranium Crush
11. Last Nail to the Coffin

The new single, "Never Bury The Hatchet", released in Finland during the Tuska festival is available for the fans as an exclusive MySpace download until October 17, 2007. Check it out at this location.

Prior to an extensive tour of Finland in support of the album, the band will perform at Nosturi in Helsinki on October 5 with BEFORE THE DAWN, PROFANE OMEN and AXEGRESSOR. More tour dates will follow shortly.

THE SCOURGER reissued its debut album, "Blind Date with Violence", in October 2006 across Europe via Germany's Cyclone Records. The bonus material on the CD was taken from "To the Slayground" EP, the "Maximum Intensity" single and the Tuska 2006 live performance.

THE SCOURGER was formed in 2003 by former GANDALF singer Jari Hurskainen, guitarist Pekka Hämäläinen and drummer Seppo Tarvainen. Jani Luttinen of THE WAKE took the second-guitar post from Harri Hytonen, this new lineup debuting with a hometown (Helsinki) support to TRIVIUM in October 2005. THE SCOURGER issued their full-length debut, "Blind Date with Violence", produced by BLAKE's Aaro Seppovaara, in January 2006. In May Jani Luttinen injured his hand, necessitating WARMEN's Antti Wirman stepping in as substitute.

For more information on THE SCOURGER, visit

Watch video footage of THE SCOURGER performing the song "Hatehead" live at the Rock 'n' Roll Station in Helsinki, Finland:


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).