BECOMING THE ARCHETYPE: 'The Magnetic Sky' Video Released

"The Magnetic Sky", the new video from Atlanta, Georgia-based metallers BECOMING THE ARCHETYPE, can be viewed below. The clip is described in a press release as "an 8-bit fantasy adventure that finds the members of BECOMING THE ARCHETYPE wandering through a sci-fi landscape in the format of an old Nintendo game, fighting their way through a wasteland of terrifying creatures to fulfill an arcane mission." The track comes off the band's fourth album, "Celestial Completion", which was released on March 29 via Solid State Records. The CD was produced by Matt Goldman (UNDEROATH, THE CHARIOT, COPELAND) and contains 11 tracks.

"Celestial Completion" track listing:

01. The Resonant Frequency of Flesh
02. The Magnetic Sky
03. Internal Illumination
04. Path Of The Beam
05. Music Of The Spheres: Requiem Aeternam Part I (instrumental)
06. Elemental Wrath: Requiem Aeternam Part II
07. Xenosynthesis: Requiem Aeternam Part III
08. Invisible Creature (instrumental)
09. Cardiac Rebellion
10. Reflect/Refract
11. Breathing Light

Commented BECOMING THE ARCHETYPE guitarist/keyboardist/vocalist "Count" Seth Hecox: "'The Magnetic Sky' is good introduction to the wild metal adventure of 'Celestial Completion' — it's not exactly what you would call standard metal, but neither does it become as completely unhinged as other album tracks.

"'Magnetic Sky' features a healthy dose of Jason's [Wisdom, vocalist/bassist] vocal range and style, as well as clean vocals by Daniel [Gailey, guitarist] and me. It's got a lot of the elements that this record has, but doesn't go off the deep end in terms of experimentation. That makes it a good first impression for both longtime fans and recent fans."

Giving a glimpse into an unorthodox writing process that yields unorthodox results, Seth continues: "Jason would walk around singing 'riffs' into his phone to remember them. Then he would go to Daniel and say, 'I got this idea for a riff that goes 'bing, bing, bicki bing, bicki bing, bicki bing bing' and poor Daniel would have to figure out how to translate the sounds Jason made with his mouth come out of his guitar."

"Celestial Completion" is a wildly ferocious, relentlessly creative and breathtakingly risky album that will redefine BECOMING THE ARCHETYPE for fans, skeptics and critics alike. Like the bandmembers themselves, the album is uncompromisingly metal, yet unafraid to show a sense of playfulness as it pushes the limits of heavy music to the very breaking point. There are horns. There is Middle Eastern sitar. There is a choir of sopranos. Needless to say, paint-by-numbers metal this is not. But one bone-crushingly heavy, imaginative tour de force it certainly is.

Speaking of the band's sense of musical adventure, guitarist/keyboardist/vocalist "Count" Seth Hecox says, "Everyone should know that we have championed a great juxtaposition between heavy music and world music on 'Celestial Completion'. Complete with BECOMING THE ARCHETYPE-patent keyboards, epic riffs and Jason Wisdom's incredible lead vocals, all the elements of great music are firing on all cylinders."


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).