METALLICA: Official Video Recap Of 'WorldWired' Tour Kick-Off

METALLICA: Official Video Recap Of 'WorldWired' Tour Kick-Off

The official video recap of the first show of the North American leg of METALLICA's "WorldWired" tour — which launched on May 10 at M&T Bank Stadium in Baltimore, Maryland — can be seen below. According to Rolling Stone, the stage show included "seemingly hundred-foot screens that stretch to the upper rafters of the gigantic venue, chest-rattling bass drum that approximates Lars Ulrich personally kicking you in the gut and pyro displays that include 40-foot flames that turn into fireballs and fireworks galore." The stage even had giant balloons that display the cover of METALLICA's latest album, 2016's "Hardwired… To Self-Destruct".

The band's 18-song setlist included five tracks from "Hardwired", which was certified platinum last month by the RIAA (Recording Association Of America).

METALLICA was joined in Baltimore by Danish/American rock and rollers VOLBEAT and popular California act AVENGED SEVENFOLD.

METALLICA's setlist was as follows:

01. Hardwired
02. Atlas, Rise!
03. For Whom the Bell Tolls
04. Fuel
05. The Unforgiven
06. Now That We're Dead
07. Moth Into Flame
08. Wherever I May Roam
09. Halo on Fire
10. Hit The Lights
11. Sad But True
12. One
13. Master Of Puppets
14. Fade to Black
15. Seek & Destroy


16. Battery
17. Nothing Else Matters
18. Enter Sandman

Ulrich told Rolling Stone that playing two one-off stadium gigs last year — at San Francisco's AT&T Park and Minneapolis's US Bank Stadium — showed the group that they could still draw larger venues in the U.S. as they tour in support of "Hardwired… To Self-Destruct". "It was like, 'Holy fuck, people really still care about this band in ways that you stopped taking for granted literally decades ago,'" he said. "It was very inspiring and kind of eye-opening.

"Full stadium runs can sometimes be a little intimidating," he continued. "There's all these things to worry about like, 'You should really try to play maybe only on the weekend,' and, 'Where do you play on Tuesday?' and some of those practicalities can get a little bewildering. We just threw caution to the wind. Doing a stadium run seemed like the perfect thing on the back of how well this record has been received and all the good will that's out there in METALLICA's world right now."

METALLICA guitarist Kirk Hammett concurred, telling The Baltimore Sun: "It looks like we're selling more tickets than we have ever before in the United States. Knowing that has made everyone super excited about the tour. It's a good place to be because we feel pretty fresh."

The North American leg of the "WorldWired" tour is hitting stadiums in twenty-five cities before winding down in mid-August.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).