POSTHUM: New Album Details Revealed

Norwegian atmospheric black metallers POSTHUM have signed to Indie Recordings for the release of their newest album, "Lights Out". The CD — which will be released on September 25 in North America (September 21 for Europe) — can be described as atmospheric and gloomy with a melancholic undertone, even though songs are more aggressive and feature progressive elements. Lyrically, POSTHUM draws inspiration from nature, dreams and nightmares, the material and commercial world and human nature. Fans of old ALCEST and classic ENSLAVED should find much to like.

The band commented on the album and signing with the following statement: "We are first and foremost proud of 'Lights Out', an album we have worked with for such a long time to make it just the way we wanted it to be. We then made a list with record companies we found interesting, and Indie Recordings were on top. Now that we have signed the deal, we feel great comfort of having well-oiled machinery behind us when we once again go on tours and work further with our band."

The cover art for "Lights Out" can be seen below.

"Lights Out" track listing:

01. Untame
02. Leave It All To Burn
03. Scarecrow
04. Red
05. Absence
06. Resiliant
07. Down In Blood
08. Summoned At Night
09. Afterglow
10. Lights Out

POSTHUM released its self-titled debut album in 2009, received great reviews from the underground press and triggered a strong demand for a swift sequel.

The band was formed in 2004 in a small town in the east of Norway, and until 2009 POSTHUM kept fairly isolated from other musical communities and groups. This resulted in their music not being particularly influenced by the trends in the scene, and despite their obvious roots in Norwegian black metal, POSTHUM sounds new and fresh. Their debut record ensured them some well-deserved attention that led to a European tour with legendary SATYRICON and SHINING (Sweden) the same year. In fact, POSTHUM's first concert ever was supporting SATYRICON and SHINING in front of a completely sold-out venue with 800 fans in Antwerp, Belgium. Since then, Posthum has played at Under The Black Sun festival in Germany, done several shows in Norway and a toured Europe again with NARGAROTH and CHAOS INVOCATION.

The name "Posthum" means "after exitus," which especially refers to compositions and tributes to dead artists. For the band, "Posthum" is a tribute and reminder to all life that has existed before them.

Commented POSTHUM: "It's fascinating to know that what surrounds us are the results of the efforts of ordinary mortal explorers, of flesh and blood, and that one day we too will be history, but what we leave behind is something very alive, the music."


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).